- Tax Relief Programs
- Veterans Property Tax Exemption
Veterans Property Tax Exemption
Administered by the County Assessor and Treasurer, this program aids qualified veterans by reducing property taxes on principle residences or motor vehicles. To receive the veterans exemption, the Veterans Property Tax Exemption Application (PDF) must be completed and returned to the Assessor's Office by the fourth Monday of May every year.
In 2007, the Wyoming State Legislature passed a bill that increased the annual veteran's exemption savings by removing the $800 lifetime cap that had previously been in place. Many veterans who had reached their lifetime benefit are now eligible for this exemption.
If you wish to use the exemption for a reduction of approximately $175 in property taxes on your principal residence, the Veterans Property Tax Exemption Application (PDF) must be filed with the Assessor's office by the fourth Monday of May of every year.
If you have filed in the past, the Assessor's Office will mail you a partially completed form that you must return completed, signed, and dated.
On a principal residence the exemption can be used for a reduction of approximately $175 in property taxes. The savings are greater on your principal residence than they are on motor vehicles. However, if you do not own your home and choose to use this program on a motor vehicle, you may bring or mail in the application to the Treasurer's Office when your vehicle registration is due.
If you have never applied for this exemption, you must also file a notarized Affidavit for Veteran Exemption (PDF) with the Assessor's Office.
Pursuant to Wyoming Statute 39-13-105 to be eligible for the Wyoming Veterans Exemption, in addition to being a Wyoming resident for three years, you must also meet one of the following criteria.
- Honorably discharged veteran of World War II, who served in the military service of the United States between December 7, 1941 and December 31, 1946
- Honorably discharged veteran of the Korean War emergency, who served in the military service of the United States between June 2, 1950 and January 31, 1955
- Honorably discharged veteran of the Vietnam War emergency, who served in the military service of the United States between February 28, 1961 and May 7, 1975
- Honorably discharged veteran who served in the military service of the United States, who was awarded an armed forces expeditionary medal or any other authorized service or campaign medal indicating service for the United States in any armed conflict in a foreign country
- Disabled veteran with a compensable service-connected disability certified by the Veterans Administration or a branch of the armed forces of the United States
You must be the surviving spouse of a veteran who met one or more requirements in Criteria 1 above. As a surviving spouse, you must also meet all of the following criteria:
- You and your spouse were residents of Wyoming at the time of your spouse's death
- Resident of Wyoming for three years at the time of the application
- Not remarried
View a list of Qualifying Expeditionary Medals. Veterans who have issues with the correct qualifying medals/time periods appearing on their DD Form 214, may contact the Wyoming Veteran’s Commission at 800-833-5987 for assistance. Also, for the veteran seeking assistance in providing proof of a service-related disability, a Veteran's Administration Disability Verification Form can be found on the Assessor’s Form page or by following the link.
If you have any questions, please feel free to contact the Assessor's Office at (307) 367-4374.